Sublime Forum

Autocompletion suggest doesn't work like expected

Hi,

i’m new to ST2 (came from Coda and Espresso) and have a few questions about settings in ST2. I didn’t find something, so i’m asking here.

I installed the Sass package. When i type “text” the autocompletion automatically shows me all possible entries like “text-shadow”, “text-transform” and so on. When i choose an entry i expect the next window with possible entries like “lowercase”, “uppercase” and … But nothing happens. Until i type something. Here is what it looks like in Coda:

And when i’m using variables i was expecting ST2 to show me the already defined variables. But the same here. I have to type a few paragraphs to see suggestions. But what when i didn’t remember the variables i’ve already defined? Again a screenshot of how Codas handles this (colors in this example). I just type “$” and Coda shows me all available variables:

I’m sure, there are preferences for ST2 to have the same behavior, but i don’t know what to do. Could someone help me with this?

Mario

0 Likes

Ok, i discovered the “auto_complete_triggers” pref and set it like this:

"auto_complete_triggers":  {"selector": "source.scss", "characters": " "} ]

Now when i hit tab it shows the available completions in the pop-up. Fine.

But i can’t find a solution for the autocompletion of variables. Is there a way to show the defined variables and not only rgb(), hsl() … ?

0 Likes

The $ is, by default, defined as a word separator. You can create a syntax specific setting with that removed and it should trigger the autocomplete menu.

The setting you are looking for in the default to use as a base is “word_separators”

0 Likes

Hi skuroda,